DOC Board Members, Council Officers Elected

OPEA’s Corrections Council met Monday night to elect new officers, as well as two new board members.

New Council Officers Are:

Mike Rogers, James Crabtree Correctional Center – Re-elected as Council Chair

Donald Brown, Jackie Brannon Correctional Center – Vice Chair

Mark LaGreca, Central District Probation and Parole – Communications/Secretary

Robert Copeland will continue to serve as Membership Chair

The two new Board seats were filled by Mike Rogers and Carrie Croy, Central District Probation and Parole. Both board members will be sworn in at the next scheduled meeting on April 6.

After a legislative update by Deputy Director Scott Barger, the Council went into discussions about its direction and inclusiveness.

“This is a very important time for OPEA members, Rogers said. “We’re in the middle of a legislative session that is working on a tight budget.”

Site locations and future meetings were also discussed.

Chairman Rogers said the newly elected DOC Council reflects a strong diversity among facilities and worksites.

“This Council represents all of DOC, not just a few,” he said. “We are looking forward to accomplishing great things for our members in this agency.”

Related News