New OPEA Board Sworn in at Saturday Meeting

The OPEA Board held its first meeting of 2010 on Saturday, February 6th, welcoming several new Directors.

“I want to thank every member who voted to take our organization in this new direction,” said President Connie Stockton. “Returning to a regional representation will allow us to better serve all members throughout the state. I was very pleased to see such dedicated leaders today, and look forward to working with them in the months and years to come.”

Stockton presided over Saturday’s meeting, swearing in several new members:

The new board is as follows:

Region 1: Mike Rogers
Region 2: Hank Swearingen
Region 3: Jann Ensz
Region 4: Mark S. Finch
Region 5: Carrie D. Croy
Patricia Naifeh Parker
Thomas Kalayilparampil
Region 6: Dixie Jackson
Susan F. Adams
Region 7: Rita Ann Heath
Region 8: Harold Wright
Region 9: Kenneth Burrow
Retiree Region West: Glenn Hightower
Retiree Region East: Carol Miller

No candidates filed for the director’s position in Region 11, so the Board will appoint a director for that region.

“With furloughs, voluntary buyouts, and RIFs, state employees have a rough road ahead. But OPEA will be there as we have for 35 years,” Stockton said. “I urge every new director, as well as every member, to get active in your Association, talk to your co-workers and let’s make OPEA the strongest its ever been.”

Related News