Oklahoma County Public Safety Chapter Forms

Representing all of the public safety agencies in Oklahoma County, the OPEA welcomed its newest chapter, the Oklahoma County Public Safety Chapter. The chapter formed at a meeting held in the OPEA office April 7, as members approved their chapter bylaws, elected officers and set plans for future meetings.

The chapter will represent members in DPS, OJA, DOC, OBNDD, OSBI, ABLE, Wildlife, District Attorney’s Council, AG’s office, Fire Marshall, CLEET, Criminal Appeals Court and Board of Medicolegal Investigations with the goal of uniting the voice of public safety employees.

“This chapter will give public safety employees a unique opportunity to come together across agency lines,” said newly elected president, Scott Barger. “We all have budget concerns as well as the need to protect our benefits and we can do this better, together than separately.”

The chapter also elected Carrie Croy, Vice President and Shirley Mayhue, Secretary Treasurer.

The next Public Safety Chapter meeting will be May 4, 5:00 PM at the OPEA office. The agenda will include a budget briefing from OPEA Government Relations expert, Dennis Adkins as well as a discussion about platforms for the upcoming OPEA convention.

“We are encouraging all public safety members to put this date on your calendar and come spend an hour working to make your working environment the best it can be,” Barger said.

Related News