OPEA Member Honored as NDIAA Division 2 Coach of the Year

(Pictured from Left to Right: Rep. Tammy Townley, Coach Jason Sledd, Cayden Ducharme, RyJan Reininger, Aracely Murillo, Speaker Charles McCall, Rep. Josh Cantrell)

By Chancen Flick

Oklahoma School for the Deaf Coach and OPEA Member Jason Sledd was recognized at the House of Representatives on Tuesday, March 7, 2023.  Coach Sledd earned the distinct honor of being the National Deaf Interscholastic Athletic Association (NDIAA) Division 2 Coach of the Year!

Coach Sledd has served in numerous positions at the School for the Deaf since 2010, including as a teacher’s aide and deaf specialist.  During this time, he coached the junior high basketball team (2012-2018).  In 2018, he began a career as a teacher as well and earned the NDIAA’s Coach of the Year in football in 2019 and 2022 and in basketball in 2020.   This year OSD also had NDIAA All-Americans including four football and one volleyball.  NDIAA First Team All-American Football, RyJan Reininger and Cayden Ducharme.  NDIAA Second Team All-American Football, Riley Newell and Russell Fewel.  Also, NDIAA Honorable Mention Volleyball, Aracely Murrilo.

Coach Sledd has been an active OPEA member with the School for the Deaf Chapter.  On Tuesday, the House of Representatives recognized these impressive student-athletes and their Coach with a brief ceremony on the House Floor.  Congratulations to Coach Sledd and to a great group of Oklahoma student-athletes!

Related News