OPEA Names Terrill Legislator of the Year

The Oklahoma Public Employees Association has named State Representative Randy Terrill (R-Moore) as its 2009 Legislator of the Year.

“OPEA is grateful to Representative Terrill, a former state employee himself who fought to protect state employee’s jobs, pay and benefits during the 2009 legislative session,” said OPEA President Connie Stockton. “Representative Terrill also sponsored the State Employee Turnover Reduction Act aimed at reducing the $85 million dollars in state employee turnover that is wasted each year. While the bill did not make it completely through the process, it is available next year for consideration and would save taxpayers millions of dollars.”

Stockton pointed to a provision of HB 2245 as one of Representative Terrill’s key accomplishments. The provision will allow OPEA to mail recruiting information to every state employee once per year.

“Representative Terrill has shown himself to be a friend of state employees and OPEA by passing HB 2245. That bill gives state employees a great tool for getting organized and growing our association,” said Stockton. “For the first time in our 34 year history, OPEA will be able to contact every state employee once per year and ask them to join with us in giving state employees a much stronger voice at the Capitol. Currently we have 10,000 members and there is no reason now why we can’t have the largest growth in our Association’s history and really become a force at the Capitol. We are very thankful to Representative Terrill for clearing the way for state employees to organize.”

Other state legislators receiving Honorable Mention include Senators Clark Jolley (R-Edmond), Anthony Sykes (R-Moore) John Sparks (D-Norman) and Representatives Lisa Billy (R-Purcell) Scott Inman (D-Del City), Scott Martin, (R-Norman) Jason Murphey (R-Guthrie) David Dank (R-OKC) Earl Sears (R-Bartlesville) George Faught (R-Muskogee) Chuck Hoskin (D-Vinita) Mark McCullough (R-Sapulpa).

Terrill’s award was presented at the OPEA’s annual convention on Saturday, August 29th at the Lake Murray State Lodge in Ardmore.

Past recipients of the OPEA Legislator of the Year Award include Representative Mike Shelton, (D-Oklahoma City), Senator Kenneth Corn (D-Poteau), Senator Jonathan Nichols, (R-Norman).

Related News