Pawhuska Transportation Chapter Welcomes OPEA; New Members Join

There was no worry about leftover pizza at the ODOT office in Pawhuska. The men came in from the highways and streets on a cold, windy day to enjoy pizza provided by the Oklahoma Public Employees Association and discuss issues concerning state employees and retirees.

OPEA appreciates the efforts of Don Legrand, Chapter President of the Oklahoma Department of Transportation, with the encouragement of Board Member Rita Heath, who arranged this meeting and several others as more and more people are getting involved in furthering the causes of OPEA.

“The greatest concerns were for an increase in longevity and their salaries,” said Membership Representative Reba Turner Robinson. “I explained how ideas and problems are presented at the annual convention (which will be at Lake Murray in August), and then prepared for presentation to senators and representatives for acceptance. Upon that acceptance of the law-makers, a new bill is passed and it becomes a law in Oklahoma. Robinson stressed that the vital part of getting laws passed is the action taken on local fronts.”

Several employees said they knew who their representatives are, yet they had not made contact, but they promised they would.

There was a jovial atmosphere at the meeting that resulted in several new members joining OPEA, including Chey Bergoeher, Michelle Fadley, Edward Gonzales, Bryan Rumsey, Franklin McKinley, Joshua Tatum, Wayne Peace, and Eric Roth.

This group is anxious to become 100% in membership and be a voice to support Legrand in his efforts to inform Department of Transportation employees about the functions of OPEA.

Related News